Tuesday, January 14, 2014

WIN a Sonic Gift Card PLUS PayPal Cash or Amazon Gift Card

Meet my son, Danny.

He is six years old. He has Periventricular Leukomalacia and Cerebral Palsy. Developmentally, he is about 12-18 months old. He can speak only a few phrases that he has learned to repeat when he wants something, and he is unable to walk.

He is also not the only disabled member of my family. My oldest son, who I call Ewie, is ten. He has what used to be called Asperger's Syndrome, but is now simply referred to an Autistic Spectrum Disorder, I believe. And I have Secondary Parkinsonism, which is simply Parkinson's Disease that was brought on by another medication. I won't say what medicine it was for fear of being sued. :)

Back to Danny. He is in a wheelchair as you can see here:

And, it is getting more and more difficult to get him around due to his growing height and weight. It is also getting more and more difficult for me to lift him in and out of the car due to my disabilities.

To get to the point, we need a handicap accessible vehicle. Our car just isn't going to cut it anymore. And since we live on social security disability benefits, we can't afford one on our own. That's where you come in.

We have a crowdfunding fundraiser set up at YouCaring.com. They don't charge any fees to use their site, so all donations would go directly to the purchase of the van. If you could find it in your hearts to donate anything at all, it will add up fast.

As a thank you, I am hosting a giveaway for a $10 Sonic gift card. I also have a friend who has agreed to give 10% of all donations to the winner in the form of either PayPal cash or an Amazon gift card. This could be really big if we get enough people helping out.

Please check out the rafflecopter form below to see allof the ways you can enter. Or, if you just came by to help out, you can see our fundraiser at https://www.youcaring.com/medical-fundraiser/van-for-danny/115866

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Black Friday Giveaway - $1,000 Gift Card!


Countdown To Black Friday Giveaway


Organized by Mom Powered Media and the MPM Blogger Network.

Looking for the best contests around this holiday season? Make sure to visit http://www.sweepstakesfanatics.com/

where you can find the newest sweeps, blog giveaways and even a special section for Canadian giveaways. 

I don't know about you, but if I won $1000 I would have a hard time deciding just what to spend it on. My two older boys want tablets for Christmas, but Santa is getting those for "free" through our new AT&T plan.
My youngest really needs a Height Right Chair, so I would probably get that first. I really like this one by Keekaroo:
You can see it on Amazon here.

I'm also needing a new vaccuum, so that might be on my list as well. I really like the Shark Navigator Elite Professional Lift-away Rotator. Here is a picture of that:

This vaccuum has hundreds of great reviews. You can check it out here.
And of course, I would need to get something for my husband, but he is very hard to shop for. He isn't into sports, and he has all the gadgets he wants that I know of. He wears the same type of clothes all the time, and they are special order. I really have no idea what to get him. Any suggestions? I need something unique and clever. Something he really won't expect. I know if I had a $1000 gift card I could find something good for him!

Would you like to have a $1000 gift card? Stupid question, huh? Well enter below for your chance!


One lucky winner will receive $ 1,000 Visa Gift Card or Amazon Gift Card {choice}!

Giveaway ends November 29th at 11:59pm, open worldwide, ages 18+. Please note if the winner is a non-USA or non-Canadian resident, they will receive $1,000 via paypal instead. To enter please use the Rafflecopter form below. Good luck.

Disclosure:Disabled Momma Opinions is not responsible for sponsor prize shipment. Please contact teri@mompoweredmedia.com" target="_blank">teri@mompoweredmedia.com

with questions or to see your business or blog featured on the next big event!

Thursday, October 31, 2013

Motel 6 on Lomaland in El Paso, TX

The following post was written by my husband about his recent trip to El Paso, TX...

I had occasion to visit my hometown for a 20th year anniversary. My accommodations at the Motel 6 on Lomaland couldn't have been more perfect for this was not a large an crowded property and while offering close proximity to I-10, it still had a pleasant seclusion. From my arrival to departure, the staff was exceptionally courteous and genuine which would help put anyone at ease.

My accommodations were on the east side of the building. The property was tidy and the interior was top-notch and comforting, especially after two flights to El Paso.

Everything was very neat and clean.

During my lodging, the staff was very accommodating in receiving a few UPS packages on my behalf, even placing courtesy calls to my wife out of state to alert me of the deliveries. Top notch.

I couldn't have been happier with my stay at this Motel 6. I loved the experience, it was truly pleasant and complication free. Such a great location for anyone seeking ease-of-access to the east side or east-central parts of town. The property manager, Alex, I will always remember fondly and hope to see again on the next trip out. I definitely recommend this location to anyone with east/central El Paso needs. Please see the pictures I personally took, to share with you.

Friday, October 18, 2013

Danny's Favorite Toys

For my first toy post, I wanted to tell you about Danny's two most favorite toys.

The first is his Chicco Butterfly Spinner.

He first encountered this toy at therapy. At first, he had no idea what to do with it, but it didn't take him long to learn. Soon, he was pushing down on the plunger hard and fast and yelling, “Go fast, butterflies!” Being that he speaks very little and even less that you can understand, this was a major thing for us. Every time we went to therapy after that, it was the first thing he went for. We started looking around for it, but couldn't find it because we didn't know it's name. Then, one day we were in Target and found it! Once I knew it's name, I was able to locate it on Amazon and we got him one immediately. It has been his favorite toy ever since.

It has eight small balls inside that look a little like butterflies. When you push down on the plunger, they spin around and it is very colorful because of a reflective surface in the middle of the spinner. The plunger itself has several bumps on the surface which is a great tactile stimulus for kids with sensory issues. The plunger is fairly easy to push down as well so your child doesn't have to be all that strong for it to work. All-in-all a great toy!

His second most favorite toy is another kind of spinner. It's called the VTech Winnie The Pooh Play 'n Learn Spinning Top.

This one is different in that it is electronic, so it has lights and sounds. We thought that since he already knew how to work a plunger toy that he would enjoy the surprise of those lights and sounds when he pushed it down. We were right about that. He loves when Winnie the Pooh starts to sing to him! The lights flash and Pooh sings him songs and music plays. When he stops playing with it, Pooh asks him a question to get him re-interested. The questions are things like, “Do you know who likes honey?” Then, to answer, you simply move the little Pooh piece on the side. There are similar questions for the Tigger and Piglet pieces. Danny doesn't understand these questions and answers, but your child might. It also has three buttons on the side with shapes and numbers that identify themselves when you push them. Danny has figured out which one says what and he will say them with the toy. Again, any toy that gets him talking is a big hit in my book!

You can find the Chicco toy HERE or the Pooh toy HERE.

Stay tuned for more great toy reviews by signing up for my weekly newsletter.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sunday, October 13, 2013

Blogger Op!!!

Black Friday Shopping Spree Event

Organized by: Mom Powered Media

Prizes: $1,000 {visa gift card, amazon gift certificate or select your favorite store}
Event dates: 11/8 - 11/29
Open Worldwide
Referral prize: $50 Amazon E-Code or Paypal Cash

Requirement to join:
* No more than 2 blogs per person allowed
* Agree to post the giveaway html on the date the event begins and promote at least 3x a week

Bloggers: Sign Up HERE

Monday, October 7, 2013

My Favorite Indie Author

For my very first book post, I want to tell you about my favorite indie author. Her name is Jessica Miles. She also writes under the name Jessie M. She writes romance novels that are just amazing. Several of her books are also paranormal, which I absolutely adore. Yes, I am a Twilight kind of gal. Don't judge me! Anyway, back to Jessica. I have read seven of her books so far, and I loved every single one of them. Here is a short description of each:

Blood Match is about a girl named Serena who has just finished her degree and gotten a really good job. She decides that she has earned a little fun time, so she goes out for a night on the town with her very promiscuous little brother. While she is out, she meets a dark and mysterious man who intrigues her. She does a little bit of flirting and that's that. Imagine the shock when she finds out that he is actually her new boss! It makes for some interesting office tension, and things just get more strange when she finds out more personal details about him and his “family”. It is a thrill ride you won't want to get off of. My only complaint about this book is that it left me wanting more. Jessica says in the end that a sequel is in the works. I can't wait!

The Pairing is another steamy romance novel with a paranormal twist to it. It is a love story about a girl who wants to be a vet because of her love of animals. When she meets a scruffy looking, but rather handsome man, she is extremely attracted to him. Little does she know, that he is quite the animal himself. She finds herself wanting to be a part of his world more than anything, and realizes that she will do extraordinary things to make that possible.

Rose Blood is similar to Blood Match in that it is a vampire love story. The leading lady of this is Rose. She begins having feelings for a co-worker (Harry) who has been trying to win her affections for years. But she suddenly has a huge client (Marcus) fall in her lap that is handsome, intriguing, and mysterious. She is drawn to him for reasons she can't explain and thus begins a struggle to decide who she truly cares for the most. It isn't exactly a fair fight. Marcus is exceedingly wealthy and powerful and determined to have Rose for himself. He will stop at nothing to make her his.

White & Black is more of a love square rather than a love triangle. There are apposing love interests for both the leading man and lady. It makes for a lot of juicy drama. The leading lady, Ella, seems to be such a sweet and innocent little thing until she starts her new job. Then her inner bad girl gets loose. And at the same time, the leading man, Dev, has a bad boy attitude that gets turned around when he meets her. They seem to bring each other into a harmonious state between good and bad. White and Black mixed make gray, you know. All Fifty Shades of it!

62 Days is about Ray (Rachel) who just got out of a really bad relationship. 62 Days ago to be exact. But her best friend “Suze” forces her to go to a birthday bash for her twin brother's boss, Mark. He is a millionaire property tycoon who also happens to be absolutely gorgeous. Ray is still so torn up by the breakup, that she really doesn't even want to be out of her bed, much less meeting anyone new. When Mark meets her though, he decides that she is the one he wants and he will find a way to change her mind. Soon, they are heating things up and Jessica (the author) does a good job of telling us exactly hot things get!

Touch of Eden is a different angle for Jessica because she writes it entirely from the man's point of view. Joshua is a total horn-dog. He can't keep his hands off of women. But one day, something happens that wakes him up and makes him realize that things need to change in his life. Then, he realizes that he has very strong feelings for a woman that he never saw in that way before. Unfortunately, she only sees him as a playboy and knows better than to give him her heart. It makes for an interesting journey.

Whirl is exactly what the name suggests. It's a whirl of a relationship. Two people named Alex (Alexander and Alexandra) meet when she-Alex gets tired of her failing relationships and decides to take a vacation to visit her sister. She wants to have a little fun while she is there. She thinks maybe she can have a bit of a fling and be done with it and go home. Until she meets he-Alex. He is a pilot in the US Marines. He is gorgeous and they have instant chemistry. Granted at first it is very negative chemistry, but that quickly turns around. From there on, the whirlwind begins.

I look forward to her next book always! I recommend that anyone who likes a good romance to check her out. Her books are usually $2.99 although I have gotten lucky a couple of times and grabbed them up on free days. Let me know in the comments if you read any of these books and what you thought of them!

Monday, September 30, 2013


Thank you so much for stopping by!

This blog is in it's infancy, so bare with me while I get it going...

This blog is dedicated to reviews. I love to read, so there will be lots of book reviews. I mostly enjoy reading books by indie authors, so you will find things you probably haven't heard of before. I will review products geared toward children with disabilities as I have two of them. In fact, I will review just about anything. If you have something you would like me to review, please let me know. I would be happy to do so!

To find out more about mine and my children's disabilities, please read the about me section. Otherwise, click through the pages for lots of great reviews!